top of page
  • Arushi Garg

Interview with Athena



Recently, I did an interview with my classmate Athena who is from China and this was a great way to learn more about her. It was interesting to know about her perspective on London and more. I got to know her hidden talents and feelings as well. Find out some more with the whole interview which I took of her in one of the class sessions.

Q1. Hey Athena!! So I know your English name. But what does your Chinese name mean?

My Chinese name is Zi’an Xu, and Xu is my family name and in China it means lucky and Zi’an means safety. My parents want me lucky and safe.


Q2. Tell me something about your family?

There are three people in my family. My father is the manager of a company and my mother is a manager of a bank.


Q3. What are you doing in your university?

I am in my first year in university and my major is international communication.


Q4. Why did you choose journalism in London College of Communication?

In international communication, it is more about communication but I am more interested in journalism as I want to know more about this particular field.


Q5. So in class you seem introverted and quiet. Are you like that with your friends and family as well?

No, with them I am more active. As it is my first time in London and I am meeting so many foreigners, i feel my english is not so good maybe i can't communicate with everyone so well. Also i don't use Instagram and Facebook which presents a difficulty in communicating.


Q6. Do you have any hidden talent which you would like everyone to know about?

I can play the piano and the guitar. I also love drawing. I don't play guitar so well but i started learning piano when I was five years old so that's why i play it better.


Q7. So China is one of the few communist countries in the world. Do you feel life there is different from here?

I think maybe other cultures think that maybe China is quite strict. But that is because China is a big country with so many people, if the government does not censor things to some extent then the country will become a mess. London is an international country with so many people from different cultures but in China foreigners are very less.


Q8. What differences do you find between the British and the Chinese culture?

I think some lifestyle difference. I have been living here since two weeks and people in London are more helpful and interactive. In China, if you walk on the streets and are confused about the directions, not many people help but it's not the case in London. Here people like to read on the tube as well.


Q9. Did you try Chinese food here? Was it as good as it is in China?

Yes, I tried some restaurants in Chinatown and they were really good.


Q10. Lastly!! What would you do if you won a lottery ticket of 10 million dollars?

Maybe I will spend it by watching my favourite bands performing and to travel and do loads of shopping. Also i would give money to charities as well.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page